Diagnosis of Malluscum Contagiosum

Red line_1
Diagnosis is made on the clinical appearance; the virus cannot routinely be cultured. The diagnosis can be confirmed by excisional biopsy but is often unnecessary.

Symptoms

Molluscum contagiosum lesions are flesh-colored, dome-shaped, and pearly in appearance. They are often 1–5 millimeters in diameter, with a dimpled center. They are generally not painful, but they may itch or become irritated.

Picking or scratching the bumps may lead to further infection or scarring. In about 10% of the cases, eczema develops around the lesions. Bleeding may occur if the lesions are scratched.

The viral infection is limited to a localized area on the topmost layer of the epidermis. Once the virus containing head of the lesion has been destroyed, the infection is gone. The central waxy core contains the virus.

In a process called autoinoculation, the virus may spread to neighboring skin areas. Children are particularly susceptible to autoinoculation, and may have widespread clusters of lesions.

Individual molluscum lesions are usually self limiting and can go away on their own. The infection is generally 6 weeks to 3 months. However via a process call “autoinoculation”, in which the infected person reinfecting one’s self. The disease may propagate lasts longer with mean durations variously reported as 8 months, to about 18 months, and with a range of durations from 6 months to 5 years.

傳染性軟疣的診斷

Red line_1
要確診是否感染是要經過臨床表徵診斷才可以肯定,這病毒不能以種菌的方式確診。雖然可以由切除性的切片檢查加以肯定診斷結果,但這醫療程序往往都是非必要的。

傳染性軟疣的徵狀


傳染性軟疣的病變組織一般都是顏色鮮艷呈圓拱型外表看起來很像珍珠
它們的直徑通常由1毫米至5毫米不等,並且擁有一個微凹的中心。雖然這病變組織不會帶來庝痛,但它們可能令患者感到癢癢,因而令他們非常煩躁。

刮掉或刮傷它可能導致進一步感染或留下疤痕。患者當中大約一成的人會在他們的病變組織的周圍會出現濕疹。刮傷病變組織也會帶來出血的情況。病毒感染只局限於表皮的最上層。一旦病毒包含病變組織的主要部份被破壞,感染的情況便不再存在。

病毒存在於病變組織的中央蠟狀核心之中。病毒可能由一個稱為「自身接種」的過程蔓延至鄰近的皮膚組織。兒童是特別容易成為病毒「自身接種」過程的受害者,令病變組織廣泛地傳播。

個別的傳染性軟疣通常只局限於自己本身,而且會自然地消退,感染期由6星期至3個月不等。可是,透過「自身接種」的過程,一個受感染的人會令自己再次受到感染,因此這疾病可能持續更長的時間。平均持續期由8個月至大約18個月,而這疾病有可能持續6個月至5年時間不等。