Test for Syphilis

Red line_1
There are 4 different tests for syphilis.  
In general, they should be done in combination to determine the presence of infection and whether the infection is new or old.  The earliest time to have test for syphilis is at least 2 weeks after at-risk exposure.

1. Treponema Pallidum (TP) antibody Test

This tests for the presence of antibody IgM and IgG in blood.  
IgM is usually developed from 2 weeks after infection by Treponema Pallidum.  Therefore this test can detect early infection by Treponema Pallidum.  
IgG is usually produced by the body about 4 weeks after contact with the infection and remains positive for life even after treatment. Therefore, it is used to determine infection over 4 weeks or previous infection of syphilis.  This test us usually used as a screening test for syphilis.

2. VDRL Test

VDRL is a secondary test for syphilis which provides a semi-quantitative level of antibody in blood.  It is used as a confirmation if TP antibody is positive, determine the likely stage of infection and response to treatment.  If positive, conventionally it is reported as "reactive" instead of positive and a negative result is reported as "non-reactive".  In a positive result, a level is also given as 1:2, 1:4, 1:8...1:32 etc.  The higher the second number indicts the level of dilution that the test remains positive, ie higher number indicates high concentration of antibody and more advanced infection.  After treatment, the level will reduce and it can take up to 6-12 months for the test to become "non-reactive" again.  In some cases, the report may show "NEAT" which indicates the test is only positive in an undiluted sample which may still indicate treated syphilis.

3. FTA antibody and TPHA Test

FTA and TPHA are confirmation tests to verify a positive TP antibody test.  These 2 tests will always remain positive after infection of Treponema Pallidum.  However, these two tests are subjected to higher technician variability, therefore they are usually not used as first line tests.

Syphilis Tests we provide at Neo-Health:

Syphilis Rapid Test

Syphilis VDRL

T. Pallidum Antibody

梅毒檢測

Red line_1
有4個不同的梅毒測試。

在一般情況下,他們應該結合進行,以確定感染的存在和感染的是新或舊的感染。梅毒測試,最早可在接觸後2週進行。

1. 梅毒螺旋體(TP)抗體

血液中的IgM和IgG抗體測試。 IgM抗體通常是在梅毒螺旋體感染後 2週內產生。因此這個測試可以檢測早期感染梅毒螺旋體。接觸感染約 4週後,通常身體產生IgG抗體,並即使治療後一真保持陽性反應,因此,它是用來確定4個星期或以前的梅毒感染。這個測試我們通常用來作為梅毒初步測試。

2. 梅毒血清測試 (VDRL)

VDRL提供一個在血液中半定量的抗體水平輔助測試。它是用來作為一個確認,如果TP抗體呈陽性,VDRL可用作確定感染和對治療的反應。如果結果是陽性,常規報告“反應”,而不是積極和消極的結果是“非活性”報導。在一個積極的結果,水平也為 1:2,1:4,1:8 ... ... 1:32等較高的第二個數字起訴的稀釋程度,測試仍然呈陽性,即較高的數字表示高濃度的抗體和更先進的感染。治療後的水平將減少,它可能需要長達 6-12個月的測試,成為“非活性”再次。在某些情況下,該報告可能會顯示“整潔”,這表明測試僅在未稀釋的樣品,它仍可能表明治療梅毒陽性。

3. 螢光螺旋體抗體吸附試驗法 (FTA)和梅毒螺旋體血液凝集檢查(TPHA)

FTA和TPHA為確認的測試,以確定陽性的TP抗體測試。梅毒螺旋體感染後,這 2個測試將始終保持陽性。然而,這兩項測試由於過程復雜,因此,他們通常不作為第一線測試使用。