What is gonorrhoea?

What is gonorrhoea?

Gonorrhoea is a common sexually transmitted disease (STD). Gonorrhoea is caused by Neisseria gonorrhoeae, a bacterium that can grow and multiply easily in the warm, moist areas of the reproductive tract, including the cervix (opening to the womb), uterus (womb), and fallopian tubes (egg canals) in women, and in the urethra (urine canal) in women and men. The bacterium can also grow in the mouth, throat, eyes, and anus. Therefore, it can be transmitted from oral, vaginal and anal sex.

How common is gonorrhoea?

Gonorrhoea is a very common infectious disease. CDC estimates that more than 700,000 persons in the U.S. get new gonorrhoeal infections each year. Less than half of these infections are reported to CDC. It is even more common in developing countries where antibiotic resistance has emerged.

How do people get gonorrhoea?

Gonorrhoea is spread through contact with body fluid from the penis, vagina, mouth, or anus. Ejaculation does not have to occur for gonorrhoea to be transmitted or acquired. It can also be transmitted by unprotect oral sex. Gonorrhoea can also be spread from mother to baby during delivery.

People who have had gonorrhoea and received treatment may get infected again if they have sexual contact with a person infected with gonorrhoea. The body does not develop immunity to it.

Who is at risk for gonorrhoea?

Any sexually active person can be infected with gonorrhoea. From our local data, the most common places people acquire gonorrhoea are from developing countries like China, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam. More people catch gonorrhoea from unprotected oral sex than vaginal intercourse as more people have oral sex unprotected.

What are the signs and symptoms of gonorrhoea?

Although some men with gonorrhoea do not have any symptom, most men have signs or symptoms that appear one to fourteen days after infection. Symptoms from vaginal or anal contact tend to appear earlier compared to after oral sex. Symptoms and signs include a burning sensation when urinating, and/or a white/yellow, or greenish discharge from the penis. Sometimes men with gonorrhoea get painful or swollen testicles after the bacteria had travelled up the urinary track.

淋病是什麼?

什麼是淋病?

淋病是常見的一種性傳播疾病(STD),由淋球菌引致。這種細菌的生長和繁殖在溫暖,潮濕的地區,生殖道,包括的子宮頸、子宮、輸卵管,及男女性的尿道中。淋球菌也能生長在口腔、咽喉、眼睛和肛門。因此,它可以從口交、陰道和肛門性行為傳播。

Image result for gonorrhoea

淋病有多普遍?

淋病是一種很常見的的性傳染病。 美國疾控中心(CDC)估計,每年有超過 700,000人在美國獲得新的淋菌性感染,而這數字可能不及真實個案的一半,而淋菌性感染在一些發展中國家更經常出現抗生素耐藥性的情況。

如何感染到淋病?

淋病是因接觸到從陰莖、陰道、口腔、或肛門的體液而授感染,亦可在沒有射精的情況下傳播,此外亦可通過口交傳播。淋病也可在分娩時由母親傳染給嬰兒。 淋病即使在接受治療後亦可重複感染,身體不會產生免疫力,只要再和患有淋病的人有性接觸,就可能再被感染。

誰最有機會感染淋病?

任何性活躍的人都可感染到淋病。從本地數據,人們最常感染到淋病的地方,來自中國,菲律賓,泰國,越南等發展中國家。很多的人透過無保護口交感染到淋病,因為大多數的人口交沒有正確使用安全套。

淋病病患者有什麼風險?

許多人在感染後,並不會表現任何症狀。男性常見症狀包括排尿灼熱、陰莖開口流膿、睪丸疼痛等。女性的常見症狀一樣是排尿灼熱、伴隨陰道異常分泌物、不正常出血,甚至是骨盆疼痛,有時甚至會導致骨盆發炎的併發症。男性則有可能併發副睪炎如果淋病並未正確治療,導致反覆感染,少數情況可能會造成化膿性關節炎或是心內膜炎。

淋病檢查?

淋病檢查一般以檢查尿液中的淋球菌。
淋球菌基因測試

file_3